I dont know about the rest of you, but I cannot stand IntelliTXT advertising on my favorite sites. What is IntelliTXT? It's a new advertising medium that turns actual keywords on a webpage into clickable links. This method of placing ads can be very intrusive, because if your mouse accidentally passes over one of these many double-underlined links, an ad is displayed right over all the text in that area.
Anyway, you probably found this article because you want to disable it, so if you have 2 minutes to spare, lets do it.
Goto Start then Run and type in the following
c:\windows\system32\drivers\etc\HOSTS
After pressing Enter, an "Open With" dialog box will appear. Choose to open the file with Notepad. Leave this file open as you perform the next step.
Visit one of your favorite sites thats uses IntelliTXT. Once the page is fully loaded, view the source of the page. (In IE: View>Source, in Mozilla: View>Page Source)
Once the page source is open, press <CONTROL>+<F> on your keyboard. Do a search for "intellitxt.com"
We want the full domain name before any slashes. For example, mine would probably be
http://tleone.us.intellitxt.com/intellitxt/front.asp?ipid=2346
All we need is what is in bold above. Now go back to the HOSTS file you have open. We will need to create a new entry. Add the following line at the end of the file.
127.0.0.1 tleone.us.intellitxt.com
Do the same for all of your favorite sites then save and close the HOSTS file. Close and reopen your browsers and the IntelliTXT links will be gone.
Note: In case you care, lots of sites/forums have "Terms of Use" that may disallow any methods or programs that block advertising on the site.
|
Tom
March 15, 2007 146.145.122.50 |
Does this just remove the advertising links or block you completely from viewing the website? |
|
Tony Leone
March 15, 2007 68.127.138.124 |
It just removes the Intellitxt links. |
|
Brock
April 11, 2007 67.176.11.209 |
Alternatively for IE... Enter http://*.us.intellitxt.com to your restricted sites list. This worked like a charm for me, and should cover all sites! |
|
Bryan
April 11, 2007 68.5.39.6 |
I cannot get it to work in Vista 64. I get an error message when I try to save the Hosts file that access has been denied. Nothing else is stated. I am the admin and am logged in as such. I have right clicked on the Hosts file to see if I could open as the admin, but that is not an option. |
|
Tony Leone
April 11, 2007 69.105.38.67 |
The comment below yours about adding it to restricted sites works great. Try it. |
|
sumguy
April 29, 2007 64.180.223.171 |
You might as well block the entire domain. Why stop at "us.intellitxt.com"? |
|
a guest
April 30, 2007 69.105.38.192 |
well, that was the initial way of blocking it. Then intellitxt started giving customers the subdomains. So simply blocking intellitxt.com in the hosts file wont work. |
|
Mike
May 03, 2007 199.209.144.62 |
I tried the "restricted" sites ideas. Nothing worked. Has things changed? Do I need to do more than just that? |
|
Tony Leone
May 03, 2007 69.111.53.9 |
It should be entered as " *.us.intellitxt.com " |
|
Mike
May 04, 2007 199.209.144.62 |
OK, I found a work around solution at http://www.mvps.org/winhelp2002/hosts.htm. I modified their hosts file to include only the intellitxt stuff (I am not anti-ads). I just do not like intellitxt and this did work. FOr me, the hosts file worked and the restricted site list did not.... |
|
Scott
August 31, 2007 66.205.157.45 |
Thank you for the information. The more sites that talk about it, the easier it is to locate the solution in a web search. |
|
RpD
September 03, 2007 24.237.34.167 |
You might also want to block ContentLink... an Intellitxt competitor. |
|
RpD
September 03, 2007 24.237.34.167 |
P.S. You can right-click on the icon for Notepad, Wordpad, whatever... and select Run as Administrator... then go open 'hosts', it will let you save it. |
|
BlackLily
September 13, 2007 75.71.22.208 |
Hi folks. I use Firefox almost exclusively (except when forced by Microsoft etc to use IE), and I can't stand these kinds of ads either. So I went hunting, found this page, and went hunting some more, and found an add-on for Firefox that makes it easy to block these. It's called BlockSite 0.6. The link is https://addons.mozilla.org/en-US/firefox/addon/3145 . |
|
michael
October 12, 2007 69.223.63.207 |
nice article. now... let's work on something to do away with those pesky adBrite link creations. |







